History of the Earls of Cheshire

The history of the earls of Cheshire is very important, especially when speaking of medieval England. The Earldom of Chester held a great deal of power, which extended over Flintshire and Cheshire.

The title was often given to heirs-apparent after 1301, and is now given along with the Prince of Wales title.

The Earls of Cheshire were first seen in 1067, when the Norman-French ruled over the territory. There were several creations of the earldom throughout the centuries, with Gerbod the Fleming being the first earl holding his position from 1067 through 1070.

Second Creation 1071 – 1237

The second creation of the earl of Chester began with Hugh d’Avranches in 1071. He held his position until 1101. The title was then granted to Richard d’Avranches, who held the title for 19 years until 1120 when Ranulf le Meschin took the title.

The title would change hands again in 1129 when Ranulf de Gernon was granted the title, which he held until 1153 when Hugh de Kevelioc became the 5th Earl of Chester. The title would then be granted to Ranulf de Blondeville, who held the title from 1181 through 1232.

The title would then pass to Matilda of Chester in 1232 before being taken by John of Scotland in the same year and held until 1237.

A vacancy would then commence until 1254.

Third Creation 1254

Cheshire went without an earl until Edward, Lord of Chester, took over the role, although he did not maintain the earl title. He held the position from 1239 through 1307 and would become King Edward I in 1272.

Fourth Creation 1264

Simon de Montfort held the title for a brief period of time before being forced to forfeit the title.

Fifth Creation 1301

The fifth creation of the title began with Edward of Caernarvon, who would become King Edward II in 1307.

Sixth Creation 1312

The final creation of the Earl of Chester was granted to Edward Plantagenet, who would be crowned as King Edward III in 1327.

This was the final time that the earldom of Cheshire had to be created. The title has since been granted to the Principality of Wales. Every Prince of Wales has held the title of Earl of Chester ever since.

The title was granted from King Edward III to Henry IV, Henry VI, Edward IV, Richard III and then would go on to the Tudor dynasty in 1486. The title would then be granted to the Stuart family and then passed to every Prince of Wales since with Charles Philip Arthur George, who isin control of the title now.

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note